Skip navigation

Snap Language

Getting Smarter through Language

About Language Proficiency Levels in Snap Language Learner ESL Lessons

What are the levels?

We use three broad levels of language proficiency:

  • A Level, Basic, or Beginner
  • B Level or Intermediate
  • C Level or Advanced

These levels are roughly based on the CEFR standard (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages); however, our lessons follow its own instructional philosophy and methodology, so you should use these levels as reference only. (See “Our Instructional Philosophy” on this page for more information.)

Our Instructional Philosophy

We believe in providing English-language learners (ELLs) with opportunities to learn English as needed so that they can acquire and improve useful language skills in reading, writing, listening, and speaking.

We also believe that students can learn organically rather than following a “strictly prescribed” set of instructional content.

For example, if an A-Level (Basic) lesson presents the opportunity to introduce a B-Level (Intermediate) vocabulary word, we will use the opportunity, making sure that the new word is well explained and presented in an easy-to-understand context.

Another way to put it is that we design our materials are at a certain language proficiency level, but we do not “dumb down” our lessons just to stay at a prescribed level.

“How do I choose my level?”


Support Snap Language

Please support Snap Language by white-listing this site.

Learn how you can support our work. and help us continue creating high-quality materials.